Self-reflection is key to scientific quality

The objectivity and reliability of science is the foundation of dependable, knowledge-based decisions. To ensure the reliability, quality and transparency of the results achieved in science in the future too, self-reflection is key.

Goals of the Working Group Methodical Standards in interdisciplinary comparison

The Working Group

  • reflects, from within science, on the criteria for good science

  • compares across disciplines the foundational standards for ensuring quality

Project Description

The Working Group will investigate, in different sample scientific disciplines, which methodical standards are applied in each discipline to ensure the reliability and quality of scientific research results. The differing forms taken in particular disciplines by fundamental standards, such as the replicability of results, the intersubjective verifiability of statements and the orientation from a basis of empirical data, will be analysed comparatively.

The starting point is the standards that are de facto established in the different disciplines, which are to be explicated, made more precise and tested for their meaningfulness in joint interdisciplinary work and through specific research questions.

Outlooks and review

  • Lecture series

  • Book publication

Members of the Working Group

Position Name Discipline
Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Sönke Albers Economics
Prof. Dr. Cornelius Borck History of Medicine and of Science
Prof. Dr. Dr. Burkhart Bromm Neurophysiology
Dr. Marina Creydt Lebensmittelchemie
Dr. Anne Dienelt Legal Studies / Public Law / International Law
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Gähde Philosophy
Prof. Dr. Silke Göttsch-Elten European Ethnology / Folklore
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Herzog Technikethik
Prof. Dr. Anna Margaretha Horatschek Englische Literaturwissenschaft
Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Prof. E. h. Edwin J. Kreuzer Mechanics and Marine Technology
Prof. Dr. Reiner Lauterbach Mathematik, Schwerpunkt Nichtlineare Analysis und Differentialgleichungen
Dr. Niels Linnemann Philosophy of Physics
Prof. Dr. Benedikt Löwe Mathematical Logic
Prof. Dr. Siegfried Oechsle Historical Musicology
Prof. Dr. Jürgen Oßenbrügge Human Geography and Urban Studies
Deputy Spokesperson Prof. Dr. Angelika Redder Germanic Linguistics and General Linguistics
Dr. Bettina Schwab Neurologie
Prof. Dr. Bernd Simon Psychology
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Alexander Stark Rechtswissenschaften
Spokesperson Prof. Dr. Manfred Stöckler Theoretical Philosophy
Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Prof. E. h. Kerstin Thurow Automation Technology / Life Science Automation
Prof. Dr. Jörn Henning Wolf Geschichte der Medizin

Permanent Guest